Wildflower Cafe – Redondo Beach, CA | 3/23/15

| Wildflower Cafe – Monday Afternoon |

It was a casual, windy Monday late-afternoon in Redondo Beach. I had just finished up a photo session and was wondering the beachy streets of this beautiful area, only to stumble upon a place that appeared to be nothing less of fate: the Wildflower Cafe. I caught myself giggling under my breath, for this restaurant and this blog share a name, and are both “Wildflowers in LA”. This coincidence was all I needed to be convinced to spend my lunchtime dining experience at this location.

The front door opened, and I was greeted by a cheery hostess. Almost instantaneously, a calm and comforting vibe washed over me. I was given an indoor/outdoor seating option (which I loved), and went for the obvious choice: outside. I was seated at a cute iron table, wielding a patio umbrella and a small bouquet of flowers. The ambiance of this patio area created a cafe/bistro type of vibe,but little did I know that theme would be followed through with the menu.

The menu had two central themes: cafe and bistro. A fusion of the two was harmony, and they make it work balancing a large breakfast/coffee section with a pasta/sandwich section. I would only be slightly exaggerating stating that choosing between the two was one of the hardest decisions I had to make on this day. After some serious soul-searching, I decided to go with the Pesto Cream Penne, in order to satisfy my never-ending crave for pesto.

The wait time was slightly below average, yielding at about 15 minutes ( no toe tapping during the wait). My ray of sunshine waitress greeted me again with a beautiful plate; only the best gift I could have received at that moment.

I was faced with a beautiful white circular plate, garnished beautifully on the outer rims with chopped parsley. In the center of the plate featured the Pesto Cream Penne, which was extremely aesthetically pleasing. I was thoroughly pleased to find that this was indeed a pesto cream sauce, not just penne tossed in a chunky basil puree. My favorite part would have to have been the aroma escaping from this simple masterpiece, that is, until I tasted it.

The penne was Al Dente, the sauce was rich and full of fresh herb and garlic flavors, and it came pipping hot. The cream sauce created with pesto was a smart move, and it paid off in the end; perfect consistency, perfect temperature, perfect blend of flavors. This dish is indeed simple and elegant, and was the perfect crave quencher. I was left with an empty plate, feeling comforted, warm, and content.

Overall, my experience with Wildflower Cafe was a 9/10, and I plan on going back for seconds – and I will be sure to save room for dessert. Cafe menu, I’m coming for you!

-B. Atwood

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment